1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How hard is to design a website?

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by NeonSun, Feb 7, 2018.

1. NeonSun

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Can anyone share with their experience? I want to make my own blog about jewerly and other stylish accessories but I don't have any professional skills for web building. Is it possible for such complete beginner to make a nice site with pleasant design? What tools and methods can you recommend me?
    Thanks!

2. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    These days, if one is reasonably computer literate, it isn’t too difficult to design a serviceable website using a template.

I personally like Nexus Themes,(nexusthemes.com) which is a simple drag-and-drop theme that installs on top of Wordpress. It’s a bit of money ($65 I think) but so simplifies the process that I find it worthwhile.

There are also a bunch of free Wordpress themes on Wordpress.com and I believe they have a completely free plan. Not as easy as Nexus, but easy enough if you watch some tutorials.

3. Niagara

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    All but family
    In addition to what Chip said, if you don't need the website to do anything that complicated, Weebly (weebly.com) is a pretty simple and free website building tool that works well for basic pages. It only took me like one hour to set up a nice looking recruitment website there for a group I run in an online game. Currently, three years later without touching the site at all, I still get emails of people asking to join through the contact box on the website, so I guess Weebly does a good job advertising their sites too.

#3 Niagara, Feb 7, 2018