1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Homophobic Jokes at Work

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Canterpiece, Aug 5, 2022.

1. Canterpiece

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    So, I've been working at my job for a couple of months now. One of the downsides is the amount of casual homophobia that occurs in the workplace. For instance, there is spray paint calling someone gay as an insult. Unfortunately, with the rise of Monkey Pox cases, there have been a fair few jokes about that as well, calling each other gay and suggesting that the other has contracted the disease.

It's also used to suggest something is uncool, e.g. "Wow, this is your taste in music? What are you gay?"

HR usually stays out of the way in the head office. I don't think she cares as it probably hasn't been reported as an issue. No one seems to mind. It's not the best, it can feel awkward when people are debating over who is "the most gay" in the office.

Lately I've been wondering how I might potentially deal with questions. No one has asked me about boyfriends, thankfully. I think it's fair to assume that they think I'm straight. Frankly I bet it'd be awkward if I came out / casually mentioned it, I can certainly imagine a future where people are making gay jokes, awkwardly pause to apologise to me, then continue. Makes me wonder what a future might look like if I started dating someone.

2. Really

I don’t think it’s necessary to come out at work especially if this is the environment but there’s good reason to try to stop these a-holes in their tracks as there may be other not-out people who are equally uncomfortable and possibly scared.