1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gay Guy Gets Panic Attack When Looking At Women - HELP!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by chopinfan88, Aug 7, 2014.

1. chopinfan88

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hey Everyone!

My name is Jonathan. I'm new to Empty Closets, and am looking forward to chatting with other members. I am almost 27 year old, and have always identified as gay. I have always accepted my sexuality, but at times have questioned it. I am out to some people and family, but not my father.

I am attracted to men and have only ever been with men, but sometimes I get a strange feeling when I look at women. It feels almost like a panic attack that only lasts like a second. The crazy thing is that this feeling only happens when I think about it happening. In fact, it can happen when I look at just about anything, although it happens more when looking at women. I am not sexually attracted to women (I've tested this plenty of times) so I'm wondering what this feeling is. I'm starting to think this feeling may be connected to me not being completely out.

Any comments on what this feeling could be would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Jonathan

2. Gen

Gen

First, Welcome to EC!

Secondly, sudden anxiety can arise as a result of a variety of psychological reactions and emotions. When we feel irrational reactions to certain types of people, it is often caused by either past experiences or fear. Sometimes our past experiences can cause us to project the negativity or harm that we have received from someone of a certain demographic on everyone else of that demographic. Other times, our own insecurities and uncertainty can cause us to fear being exposed to certain people.

How smoothly was your coming to terms with your sexuality? Was it something that causes you a fair amount of worry as a child? Did you spend a lot of time in the closet?