1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dumped by therapist

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by CL1990, Sep 10, 2018.

1. CL1990

Gender Pronoun:
    Other
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    A few people
    sorry this is not LGBT related but i have been seing a therapist for almost 2 years and before the summer break she mentioned terminating therapy but then started talking about something else...

fast forward to the back of holidays we havnt had any appointments but she texted saying she has other comitments and cant see me anymore. i dont know how to feel but i do know im quite upset and kind of disapointed. its all mixed feelings really cuz i feel i have progressed so much and im grateful to her but it all feels quite sudden and via text i feel like i dont have a clean ending...life i guess!any similar experiences or advice please?

2. Lexa

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I had a therapist once that told me after 5 sessions that she couldn't help me anymore... Just like that, without mentioning another option...

Did your therapist give you other options? Because I think she should have. I think it's wrong to just send people away.

Anyway, I think there is nothing you can do except look for another therapist.

#2 Lexa, Sep 10, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2018
    CL1990 likes this.
  3. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    In both of these cases, this is a pretty serious violation of the therapist's ethical responsibility to his or her client.