1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does buying a bigger monitor helps my eyes?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Vega222, Jun 18, 2021.

1. Vega222

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I am a software developer and I need to sit in front of my monitor most of the time. Recently my eyes bother me too much. I'm a bit worried they may get damage. I visited a doctor some months ago and he said it's nothing and you should watch the monitor/cell phone lesser and also use the artificial tear eyedrops.

Anyway, with this introduction, my eyes don't feel good today. I am considering buying a bigger monitor as an option to ease my eyes. But I'm not sure it's even relevant. I barely use my cell phone. It's just my pc's monitor that I use mostly. It's an old 18.5 inch Samsung LCD. Does a new LCD that has some so-called eyecare technology helps easing my eyes pain? Besides that, the current monitor is really small and its smallness also can bother my eyes.

I haven't had experience with any bigger screen and just wanted to know how much difference I'll experience with a 24 or 27 inch mid-range monitor comparing to the current 18.5 inch monitor (for my eyes)?! What's your opinion on my idea?

PS I have to pay it by monthly instalments, since I don't have enough money. Also, such a monitor costs like 3 months of my whole monthly salary, as dollar is very expensive in my country. So, this is not easy to decide. I had decided to buy a Laptop first as it's very important but I think maybe I should reconsider it.

Thanks in advance.

#1 Vega222, Jun 18, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2021
  2. Unsure77

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone