1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I have to want sex to be a lesbian?

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by GayThea, Dec 11, 2017.

1. GayThea

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hi guys!

I have been identifying as a gay girl/lesbian for two years+.
    I confessed my love to a straight girl (obviously didn't go that well) a year ago but I never had sexual feelings concerning her. I wanted to do all the cute squishy girlfriend things with her, but I never thought about sex, kissing yes, but since I was unkissed at that point I didn't care to much.

Later I had my first kiss with a girl at a party. She wasn't my type and I wasn't that attracted to her but the kiss was pretty romantic and pretty hot..
    I didn't really know what I was doing though while we were kissing. It felt somewhat awkward.. but i can't tell if that's the way all people feel about their first kiss.

I am generally very insecure about my sexual identity (I am only certain that I'm not into guys) and I am mostly upset about being "put into a new category of human beings": lesbians. And all the stereotypes and expectations that come with that label which is why I prefer calling myself gay.
    I am upset that people can't seem to understand that I am just someone who likes girls. I am not that different.

My brother (who doesn't know that I'm gay) categorises all LGBT people under one idea, one that he doesn't hate, but also doesn't wish to be around. We are really close but I feel like my secret is also really dragging my relationship to him down.
    I keep feeling like someone in disguise, a liar and all in all it hurts so much to discuss homosexuality and equal marriage (which is not legal where I live) with him because while he would grant gay people the same rights he refuses to acknowledge them as "the same".