1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do all dom/sub relationships include pain?

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by Creativemind, Oct 4, 2017.

1. Creativemind

Gender Pronoun:
    Other
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I'm definitely aroused by many aspects of the dom/sub mechanic (mistress/slave labels, light bondage, orders/rules for the slave, authority roleplay like student/teacher, etc) but I feel turned-off when it goes into extreme S&M (Choking, blood play, genital/nipple torture, etc).

Is it possible to find a mechanic like this that feels D/s but has no S&M? I'm new to this sort of thing and always thought I could never do BDSM because physical pain really scares me and puts me off. But the more I get to know myself, the more I wish to be submissive to a gentle domme who can give orders and punishment without sadism.

Thanks for educating me if you can :slight_smile:

dreamingfreely likes this.
  2. Chloe

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Short answer - no.

Plenty of people have D/s relationships without pain or with only mild forms that you probably would not consider sadism/masochism. It's also common to find out that certain types of so-called pain can be arousing in the right situation -- if both partners decide to explore that. The pain-pleasure definition can change a lot while playing. There's a huge range of sensations and limits and styles -- no "right" or "regular" way to do BDSM.

I've been involved in BDSM in my private life, socially, and otherwise for about 30 years. The D/s and S/m are mostly separate things for me, but I prefer to keep both. I don't mind D/s without the S/m, but I'm not very interested in S/m without at least some D/s, as a submissive. As a top, I can do S/m without much D/s.