1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Out whilst NOT in a relationship?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Blue90, May 15, 2018.

1. Blue90

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Looking for some advice really, let me know your thoughts on coming out for yourself whilst you’re single rather than doing it when you’re in a gay relationship...

I’m a girl, I’m 27 and I’m gay. But, I’m not out to anyone. I’ve been working on figuring out my sexuality for over 10 years and over the last year or two I can now say I’ve ‘come out to myself’ and I know who I am, BUT...

I’ve never actually had a relationship with anyone of any gender. I always feel this complicates things because I haven’t got any solid ‘evidence’ or stories to tell people about how ‘it didn’t work out with this boy’ or ‘I was/am so happy with this girl’, do you know what I mean?!

For years I thought I’d wait to come out until I had a girlfriend, so I wouldn’t be making a big deal out of talking about my sexuality for no reason, I’d just be announcing who I was dating... BUT, 1. I haven’t got a girlfriend and it’s had to date when you’re deep in the closet, and 2. I don’t want to drag a girlfriend through a messy coming out situation OR put extra pressure on my family/friends to have to accept my news AND a new partner at the same time.

Also, I just feel like I’m going to struggle to take this feeling too much longer, it’s just eating away at me so much it hurts, physically hurts, which I stupid when I’m not even trying to hide a relationship or anything. It’s just constant lying by omission when talking about my future and other things. Any worrying that anything good in my life could be wrecked in an instant if people knew.