1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out to my mum almost killed her :( Please read!!!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by xong, Jun 18, 2019.

1. xong

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    All but family
    1. 22 year old, male, gay

Before I start this story let me just say that this is a very deep and sensitive topic and I would appreciate any ADVICE !

So I graduated from Duke last month and of course my mum was there to celebrate with me. Let me just give some context - my Mum is Nigerian and is still a very traditional Christian and was alreadyrecovering from a depression. She was depressed because my sister’s ex husband was abusive and left her a scarred single mum. Very hard time formy family.

Anyways at this point I’m not out to my mum but she’s had her suspicions. My best friend who isopenly is there to celebrate with me. And as soon as we’re alone, my mum starts questioning hissexuality and then says that if my best friend is gay, that I must be gay too. I tried to hide it and say “no I’m into girls” . But we went back and forth and ended up getting into a slightly explosive argument and it just came out. I was at an emotional max and I just said I was gay to her and I didn’t want to hold it in anymore. She said she still loved me and we ended the night peacefully.