1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Class differences and relationships

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by bookwormBRAZIL, Sep 8, 2017.

1. bookwormBRAZIL

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I have listened to a lot here about age gap in relationships, and it seems to be a general assumption that it is harmful for both parts or not healthy.

But what do you think about class diferences? I came from a really poor family (my father used to have money, but he lost a lot in the last few years; and my mom, despite not having formal education, currently doesn't have any job and depends financially on me to "survive"), and most of the money I get now I need to spend on my home (for bills, for rent).

However, my parents always valued my education and they invest in it. I studied in good schools (with scholarships, of course) and now I am doing law school in one of the best colleges of my country. I'm interested in arts, politics, languages. I love music and I think I have a great taste on Literature (which is my most favourite interest outside law). So, I tend to be attracted to guys - from my college and beyond - who like similar things and who study and everything else. The problem is: they have more money than me. And in Brazil education is really linked to the privilege of being educated, i.e., it is linked to position on society and class and etc.

In a certain way this overwhelms me because I don't have enough money to go out every weekend, to buy high priced clothes, and I value all the little money I get (preferring to save it or spend in my books or college). I don't live in a good neighbourhood and my house is very modest too. And I don't know if a partner would sacrifice their desires in order to accompany my last of money (because, even though I would love to be in different position in society, I am not).