1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't quite believe I'm a lesbian even though I clearly am

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by highforthis, Jun 5, 2012.

1. highforthis

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I am almost 24 years old now and I have zero experience with either gender, I can't remember ever genuinely liking any guys. When I was around 11/12 other girls started to talk about guys and I did not what all the fuss was about. I assumed these girls were lying/exaggerating and thought this was stupid so I didn't try to join in or make myself believe I had crushes on boys when I didn't.

I started to get suspicious that I was different from everybody else when I was about 15 and I had never found any celebrities or real life boys attractive (though the possibility that I could be gay still did not occur to me). I looked at pictures of guys that other people considered good-looking and still could not work out what it was about them that other girls found attractive. I could see that they were not hideous, but at the same time they never stood out to me and I didn't notice them unless I was trying to.

Later, a friend told me how she always got nervous around guys she liked, that her heart beat faster, blushing when talking to them, thinking about them a lot etc. I realised that this was how I felt about some girls I liked (I thought I liked them as friends at the time). This was the first time I thought I might be gay. This thought scared me, I didn't want to be gay and have something else about me that made me different from everyone else. I told myself I wasn't gay and (sort of) made myself believe it. I didn't have very many male friends at the time and talked myself into believing that I just happened not to like any of them.