1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bury Your Gays

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by HedaGR, Aug 14, 2020.

?

Have you ever abandoned a show because of the death of an LGBTQ character?

1. Yes

2. No

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. HedaGR

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hey guys i'm currently studying a lot about the Bury Your Gays trope. I'm focusing on it for my MA thesis so i would like to know what you think of it. For those who never heard of it this trope, it is connected to the presentation of deaths of LGBT characters where these characters are nominally able to be viewed as more expendable than their heteronormative counterparts. It's basically the disproportionate amount of deaths of LGBT characters in comparison to straight ones and usually their death is connected to their sexual orientation (eg. as a punishment) or it is happening in order to move forward a straight character's narrative arc.

Were you aware of it in the first place?
    Has it ever affected you as a member of tv show's fandom?
    Do you think it reflects society?
    How do you think it affects teenagers and people in general?

Feel free to expand your thinking i could use some fan feedback!

2. BlueMonday

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Yup, I frequent TV Tropes.
    I don't watch TV, so nope.
    Sometimes.
    I don't know about them, but it doesn't affect me, personally. Death is inevitable, whether you're straight, gay, bi, etc. So, I guess you could call it Truth in Television.

#2 BlueMonday, Aug 14, 2020
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2020
  3. OGS

OGS

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone