1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Being catfished?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by PerdHapley, Sep 1, 2016.

1. PerdHapley

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Sorry to post twice in a day but I'll keep this short and sweet.

I'm meant to be meeting someone that I've been talking to online for the last two months tomorrow afternoon. We exchanged numbers over the weekend but today I realised that he Whatsapp picture is a picture of one of her pictures from her dating profile (as in she took a picture of her computer screen). That was a huge red flag for me. I'm now worried I'm being catfished.

I did a reverse image search and searched around the internet and everything seems cool but I'm still worried. The plans have been very last minute but we have arranged to meet in a public place (at a train station). Should I go through with it?

2. faustian1

Dense mature dude here. Catfished? I sense a learning opportunity. What's that?

3. PerdHapley

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people
    When someone you meet on the internet isn't who they say they are haha. They create an online persona using other people's images and a fake story

4. faustian1

Aha. Well, thanks now I get that, but I'm completely absolutely sure that never ever happens on any of the pickup/hookup sites I'm aware of. :roflmao:

Ah, but when it ever does, I wonder what the person is thinking will happen, when the 20-something athletic guy that was supposed to answer the door instead looks like Walter Matthau. Will it be the elephant in the room?

#4 faustian1, Sep 1, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2016
  5. RavenWing

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone