1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is Prep Necessary if I use Condoms?

Discussion in 'Physical & Sexual Health' started by Mlh88, Oct 4, 2023.

1. Mlh88

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey all,

Never been with a man before but it’s something I really want to explore and experience, so have been on the apps searching for potentials. I’m wanting to bottom, and condoms are 100% a must for me regardless of prep. Spoke to a guy who said condoms or not, he felt like I shouldn’t sleep with a guy period without being on prep. Obviously I haven’t really looked into prep much since I haven’t been with a guy before, but since I do want to bottom for a guy at some point in the near future, do you agree with this guy that I shouldn’t do so without being on prep? I guess my thought was since I’m new to this and wouldn’t be having sex super frequently as of yet, that condoms would do the trick until I got more active. I want to be safe of course, and I want to put myself out there but I think with my newness, it’ll be slow to start as far as the frequency of sleeping with guys, and I didn’t think prep was necessary for a not very active sex life. Or am I thinking about it wrong? Thanks for any advice.

2. HM03

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    My answer until somebody with more expertise chimes in - I guess it all depends of what level of risk you're comfortable with and how much you trust the guy.

*IF* used correctly, condoms have a high effectiveness. Then I hope through safe sex and testing (more partners=more frequent testing), there's a low likelihood of a guy you sleep with having something. So ideally that's very low risk.

But I'll let someone with more prep knowledge to chime in lol

Rayland likes this.
  3. PatrickUK

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay