1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Being chatted up? Is it a thing?

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Vikki, Jul 30, 2023.

1. Vikki

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I have only ever been with my ex male partner.

I liked this women after getting to know her.. unfortunately she couldn't stay in contact.

I feel like I'm new to dating and no idea how to do it...
    I joined some dating apps and met a couple of people as friends, not a date.

I was on another site and reading forums.... I was reading stories of lesbians getting hit on or chatted up by any gender.

I cannot recall ever being chatted up by anyone... I could probably blame my age now but it wouldn't explain it over the years.

Does anyone else gets chatted up? Is this a thing?

I do doubt myself.... I'm also wondering...

If I do eventually like someone, I question if they would like me and why?
    Do dates generally say upfront if they are not interested?

My ex was a childhood friend so I already knew him. It's not the same as dating a stranger.

2. OGS

OGS

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I have and still do get chatted up, despite being married now. I think part of it is that especially when I was single, I spent a fair amount of time in spaces where it was safe to assume that a large number of people were gay. I've been chatted up at the gym, the grocery store, the beach, obviously bars and the like (I chatted up my husband in a bar back in the day), all sorts of places. But I think I am also someone who seems approachable in public (people are forever asking me for directions). I never used the apps so I suppose chatting someone up or getting chatted up were the only options I had. LOL