1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

More Out than In

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Isbjorn, Aug 9, 2022.

1. Isbjorn

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    A lot has changed since I started coming in here and reading posts, commenting on a few, learning some, and basically getting comfortable.

I am more comfortable in my skin, so to speak. I am more out than in the closet, though I do not broadcast it much. I will confirm if asked by those I know and feel comfortable with. I am at that point where I will not lie, but if asked directly by someone I do not know, I may tell them it is none of their damn business. A close friend in church who is of my parent's generation and also a vet, has asked me, why I started wearing more jewelery (earring, rings, bracelet). I am a vet and have always dressed conservatively, wearing little to no jewelery and definitely no earring. I trusted he would be fine with it and told him. He was. That was a great experience, because one can never be sure about people of his generation. Mine either, though as generations pass, more acceptance occurs thankfully. There is still a long way to go.

I express myself more than before, but am still pretty conservative. I am a Bear, big and hairy. My jewelry leans more toward biker or steam punk and less toward refined beauty. I am definitely the polar opposite of flaming, but those in the know will know, if you catch my meaning.

Life is getting better with my comfort level, but I am still finding the new me. The good thing about this is that my wife has started supporting me in this. In fact, it has woken a long dormant want to live attitude in her. We are still figuring things out, but I can see a great potential for a new, and improved relationship, yes even including the Bi parts of me.