1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Impaired ability to learn when young?

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by brainwashed, Feb 9, 2022.

1. brainwashed

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    No this is not a dwelling to the past thread I'm sometimes noted for. I'm back filling pieces of my life puzzle to grow a greater understanding of the effects of sexuality suppression when young.

Do you feel suppressing your innate sexuality when growing up impaired your overall ability to learn?

#1 brainwashed, Feb 9, 2022
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2022
    Landgirl and sunbird like this.
  2. bsg75apollo

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Are you talking about book learninhg? Yes and no. I was a great student up to my second year of college. After that I got a little shakier. Sexuality may have been part of it, but so could a lot of self-doubt about my abilities in my major. If your talking aboit learning life lessons, I don't know because there are so many other factors that come into play

3. BiGemini87

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hmm... This is a fair question, as I think in some ways, it might have. Maybe not across the board or in regards to all academic subjects, but certainly for certain ones, or at least at certain times. I think it also largely impacted my social growth, in that fretting, denying, or feeling confusion/shame regarding my attractions prevented me from working through other issues. This created a backlog, one I feel I'm still working through years after the fact.

sunbird likes this.
  4. brainwashed

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone