1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question for straight/cis people about gender segregation in student housing

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Crisalide, Jan 17, 2022.

1. Crisalide

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hello c: (long time no see, EC, huh? xD)
    I am an afab closeted transguy (a bit on the non-binary side, though) who's attracted mostly to women, I guess (physically). I am also a student who lives and works in a city that's not my parents' town where I grew up. I cannot afford a flat all on my own, so I'm looking for a shared room in a shared flat (rented in a stable way, with a real rent contract, not jumping unofficially from one house to the next every single month...). In this city, the rent market is highly saturated. A huge crowd of students and young workers are desperately looking for a roof over their head that won't empty their wallet, while the houses avaiable are few (also, many of them are left empty by their owners on purpose, to speculate on housing prices). So... it's been months that I've been navigating rent advertisement sites and facebook groups; I've read so many announcements (and answered to) that I've lost the count...
    Being a young adult is complicated in the rent market of this city, but to the common difficulty I add me being queer. A vast majority of ads is addressed "to females only" or "to males only" (non-binary people don't even cross someone's mind). Many potential roommates explicitly state that someone of the opposite sex would make them uncomfortable. Or that the owner doesn't want their flat occupied by girls and guys at the same time. And we're talking about grown up adults here, not teenagers on a school trip.
    I wonder: why?