1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Special Coming Out Experiences

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by quebec, Jun 18, 2021.

1. quebec

Moderator Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hello All.....I've seen alot of posts about first coming out experiences. I thought it might be fun to share coming out experiences that were something extra special. Such as the way they happened, who they were with, etc. Just coming out experiences that were unusual, memorable and perhaps encouraging! I'll kick it off with mine...

I was a high school teacher for 41 years. About three years or so after I retired I ran into a former student at a local grocery store. This boy had been in my band classes from sixth grade (about 11 years old) until he graduated (about 18 years old). At the time I had not yet accepted that I was gay. I always knew there was something different about him but it wasn't until I had retired and finally accepted that I was gay that I realized the he was also gay. Several times I had thought about him and wondered if I would ever get the chance to see him and talk to him. Now there he was...right in front of me! I always had a close relationship with my students (my kids) and so we both went in for a hug which was perfectly normal for one of my "kids". And then my mouth took over and left my brain in the dust! I said something on the order of "Wow, so glad to see you, I've wanted to talk to you for a long time". To which he of course replied "Oh, what about?" Yeah, and now what was I going to do? I really was at a loss. I knew what I wanted to say but had never really planned for this even though I had thought about it. Again the mouth..."What do you think about the LGBTQ Community?" What a stupid thing to say! I was seriously embarrassed. He got a really funny look on his face, took a deep breath and said, "I'