1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello, everyone

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by TerminalWimsy, Jun 12, 2021.

1. TerminalWimsy

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Hello, everyone. I’m an as-of-yet unpublished author from Minnesota studying to be a geologist. I feel really awkward about doing this but now that it’s yet another Pride Month and me without any pride or friends in the LGBT community, I felt it was about time I tried making steps toward who I want to be. I feel like I have too much built up and everything is going to come out in jumbles, but here it is.

I realized I was bisexual sometime around high school, over a decade ago now, and like everything else it was just a secret I kept to myself – that’s how things are done in rural Minnesota: be dour and keep your emotions to yourself. Around my first year in college, mostly because of my love for writers that obliterated traditional gender roles and less because of personal freedoms, I became interested in crossdressing. I often write LGBTQ characters, but that’s about as far as my socialization with the community actually goes. Like with any of the topics I write about, I always hear a not-so-little voice say “Stop it, you’re just going to annoy or anger everyone you want to impress, and they’ll hate you for your efforts.”

Nobody knows a thing about me being bisexual, or anything else, and around here, I’m quite fine with that. I want to be the kind of person who looks at a box of hair dye and doesn’t consider it “brave;” I want to be the kind of magnanimous person that others have fun being around; I want to feel like a person, like I actually exist in the world. But it’s just easier being silent.