1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unsure about my gender identity

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Skye314, Feb 11, 2021.

1. Skye314

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi! I'm kinda new to online LGBTQ+ communities so I'm probably just going to write down my thoughts and experiences and it might be a lot.

I'm 22, and when I was in high school I realized that I was definitely feminine and probably gender-fluid, and that I felt more masc on some days and more femme on other days. Eventually I got sick of having to explain to skeptical people over and over again and broadened how I identified to non-binary to avoid the questions, and started using he/them pronouns to match closely enough, and I've been happy enough with it for the past 6 years. However, since covid started a year ago, I've been living with my grandparents to help out around the house and run errands to keep them safe, but I've also only been able to present as masc until both of them go to sleep since I'm still in the closet to my entire family.

Over that last year though, I've been feeling more and more dysphoric presenting masc, to the point where while presenting femme occasionally late at night gives me euphoria, I don't get the same feeling anymore from presenting masc, just more of a feeling of relief when I'm feeling less dysphoric than usual. A couple weeks ago I was researching dysphoria, and found that I could point out more symptoms than I had realized, because day to day life is feeling worse and worse, and since then I've felt pretty awful almost constantly, and I don't know if I'm subconsciously having my dysphoria triggered more because I know more or if it's for some other reason.