1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Questioning Gender in Adulthood

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by myrrhdock, Dec 6, 2020.

1. myrrhdock

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi everyone. I'm 25(F?), and I've been questioning my gender on and off for a couple of years. I'm completely out as a lesbian, and some people know I ID'd as demigirl, but something about that doesn't feel right.

I haven't hated living as a female, but something has always felt off. Idk how else to explain it. When I came out as lesbian, I cut my hair short and started dressing more masc. I felt at home, like it was what I was supposed to be doing all along, but stopped because of comments from my family. I gave chest binding a try a few days ago out of curiosity, and it felt so good in a way I don't even know how to describe. I know it's not entirely accurate, but I used FaceApp to see what I'd potentially look like as a guy, and wanted to cry happy tears. I thought, "yes, that's right". I'm not really sure where to go from here, or if it's nothing and I'm just being dramatic. Maybe I'm really just a masculine lesbian and I should forget about all of this.

Idk, I'm just very confused right now.

Daddio likes this.
  2. Hawk

Admin Team Full Member Away

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    If you're questioning your gender, the best thing you can do right now is to experiment. If you have supportive friends or family who you feel comfortable experimenting with, you could ask them to call you a different name and pronouns. You can start there and see how it feels to be referred to as a guy. Other things you can try if you haven't already is start getting more masculine clothes as well.