1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FWB

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Drent, Nov 27, 2020.

1. Drent

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hi

As I am new to the "out of closet" comunity, I have a question.
    It took me quite a while to realise what FWB stood for.
    How does this work. What is the protocol?

2. PatrickUK

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I'm not sure there is a protocol, as such. The main thing is to be clear about the boundaries with yourself and each other. If it is indeed a friendly and casual sexual arrangement, without commitment or any expectation of a relationship you need to be very clear about that from the outset. I would also strongly suggest keeping it safe (safe sex) as there is no pretence of commitment or exclusivity in this kind of arrangement. Apart from that you work out the 'arrangements' with each other, but it's generally the case that most meetings end up with sex.

3. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Another thing to just be thoughtful about: FWBs arrangements can work... the challenge is when one of the parties starts to have feelings for the other. If both parties share the feelings and so forth, then that isn't a bad thing, and FWB relationships do sometimes evolve into real relationships. However, more often than not, that doesn't happen. The challenge for folks new to the scene can be that those feelings can and do develop, and they can end up feeling hurt if they aren't reciprocated, even though the understanding was clear at the outset.