1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3 Year relationship with a man, but I think I might be a lesbian

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by gubblebum, Jun 29, 2020.

1. gubblebum

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Disclosure, I identify as bi/pan but I'm questioning if I am a lesbian in deep denial or not. I do love the guy I'm with but over time I have realized more and more that I am not actually attracted to men but more so the idea of them. He has known that I'm bi since the beginning. I have no experience with wlw relationships and maybe I'm just confused and I just like the idea of women too. The last thing I want to do is to hurt my best friend and potentially make him hate me and think I've just been stringing him along.

Does anyone else have experience with this?

Did you break up with your partner or did you stay with them?

Did you feel like you made the right choice afterward?

2. LostInDaydreams

Moderator Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Welcome to EC.

You’re not the first person to end up in this situation. Try to be kind to yourself - you didn’t ask for this to happen. I was in a similar situation, but I originally identified as straight, and I did leave my partner/boyfriend and it was the right choice. I should have done it much earlier, but we all process things at our own pace.

I would suggest that you take some time to think about what you really want and what you want your future to look like. Thinking of different scenarios (e.g. say you’re always in relationships with men) and how that feels, might give you some perspective. Write it down if you need to. Thinking like this helped me - the idea of being with men felt really dull and bleak.