1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Getting over painful experiences

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by dano218, Apr 12, 2020.

1. dano218

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I graduated from high school 10 years ago and during high school was in a special ed class which was very homophobic almost on a daily basis. I never really got over that experience and would like to express that to some people who were in that class with me. I can live it with it but at the same time I want to express it so badly. Is it a pathetic thing to do after all these years or not?

2. HM03

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Before I even read the details, just from the title I was going to suggest the important of talking about our feelings. People always talk about getting over it and moving on, but painful experiences mark us and shape who we are as individuals.

Unless you are acting poorly towards others and blaming it on your past (without taking responsibility), or not moving forward (huge difference between moving forward and moving on), then yes, talk talk talk!

Kyrielles and sweetfemme90 like this.
  3. dano218

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone

What I really want to know is it wise after 10 years to confront someone or a group of people over a past experience?

I don’t really need to talk about it anymore as I rather express it finally to the people who were actually involved.

#3 dano218, Apr 13, 2020
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2020
  4. Euterpe

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Some people