1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to deal with a parent I don't get on with during Coronavirus lockdown?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Joe2001, Mar 27, 2020.

1. Joe2001

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Lockdown sucks, but if I'm being honest, I would probably manage fine if I was living alone or with people that I really get on with. Not the case sadly. I dreaded the idea of being stuck in the house with my father and things have gone just as badly as predicted.

He's one of those types who never apologizes if he's in the wrong. He speaks to me like a child and loves to walk into my room without knocking several times per day for no reason (major pet peeve). I live my life scared of getting on his wrong side, which is why I studied certain subjects I hated at school, begrudgingly went to university before I was ready and never argue back - instead usually go off and cry in a corner (happened many times in the past several years).

Was watching a movie with the family tonight, he wouldn't shut up the entire time but when my sister made a joke that I laughed at, he flipped out, stopped the movie and threw us out the room - according to him, we 'have nothing about us' (which is an outright lie, he barely knows who I truly am as I suppress my true self around him). Should also mention that this movie (1983's Trading Places) contained homophobic slurs and he laughed loudly each time they were said. He uses homophobic terms all the time himself and tends to pass it off as humour/banter.