1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to leave a toxic relationship

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Wagram, Apr 4, 2020.

1. Wagram

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    so ive been seeing a guy for about 2 years and a half. I'm 23 he's 47.
    Last 18months we havent had sex. He's "depressed" and too busy to be decent to anyone around him.
    I moved with him in february. He was supposed to go to rehab. But there was always things to deal with;he never went. felt even less close to him than before. Moved back now.
    Most of the time hell text me, its when he needs money ( and he already owes me about 3weeks of pay).

I'm in a kinda toxic relationship. How do you leave it ? Do you just stop talking and forego a months pay (and I'm a broke student, that's alot for me)

I don't want to leave because, then it means i've wasted 2years of my life. And I keep hoping for our relation to be as it was in the beggining.
    How do you move on from a toxic entraping relationship ?

2. LostInDaydreams

Moderator Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Better to waste two years of your life than ten, right? Staying won’t make things better and it sounds like he’s just using you for money.

And you’ve not wasted two years, you’ve learnt things about relationships, and particularly, what they shouldn’t look like. By leaving you’re showing that what you want matters, that you matter and that’s an important thing to learn to priorities. You’ll reflect on this experience and be better placed to express your wants/needs/boundaries in future relationships.

Do you have any proof that he owes you money? Could you pursue it through small claims court?