1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Feeling stuck

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by CatWho, Dec 28, 2019.

1. CatWho

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    This is my first time on here and expressing any of this so sorry if I ramble a bit. I'm 45 years old and have spent the last few years struggling to figure out my sexuality. I've only dated men my whole life and, with the exception of one man that I was with for all of HS and college, I feel like dating felt forced. About 5 years ago, I stopped trying to force it. If anyone brought dating up to me, I simply said that I wasn't interested. I felt relieved that I didn't allow that pressure to be put on me anymore.

Once I let go of feeling like I had to date men, I realized my attraction to women. The more I thought about it, I think I have always been attracted to women. When I was growing up I went to catholic school and did not know any gay people at all, so if I did have feeling towards girls, I probably would have thought it was wrong. I mean, I feel like I was kind of taught that I should like boys. I had feelings towards women (or a woman) in my 20's, but quickly suppressed it. So, here I am, many years later, feeling like I have not been my true self and never quite "fit in".

About a year ago, a friend asked me about dating and when I said that I did not want to date, she asked why. I answered that I felt like whenever I dated someone it took a piece of me away. I meant what I said but only recently realized what I really meant. I was giving up a piece of myself to make myself date men, faking it to some extent. Once I was in a relationship (It was very infrequent. Mostly guys I started as friends with and that I knew wouldn't go anywhere), I held onto it even though I knew that I really didn't love them. I just didn't want to have to date again.