1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Possibly moving away from "boyfriend" due to job opportunity

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Gleeko0, Dec 8, 2019.

1. Gleeko0

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I am about to do essential and possibly life-changing choices in the next days, but I am mostly concerned about the relationship between me and Daniel (fictional name). So, today, I work as a home office Agent for a tech company. I work from the comfort of my home, and I get to see Daniel almost every day.

During the past 11 months, we envolved into a boyfriends-like relationship. We don't call it a relationship in the traditional sense, and we are happy about it. It's also open.

However, I don't feel that my current job will help me grow up professionally. Don't get me wrong, I love this company, the work is fantastic, the pay is not high, but we get commissions and everything else has been great since I started three months ago. These aspects of my life, today, are why, among other things, I feel that I may be committing a mistake.

I have a great job, I don't have my place, but Daniel and I have been thinking about sharing something in a cheaper city. Today we also participated in a selection process for a public university (in my country, there are no tuition fees; I don’t “need” this diploma, but it is something professionally promising to study and will help me develop my Ph.D., so will the out of state job). We will probably pass to study in that cheaper city, where we'll be able to share a place and live together. He is capable of transferring his job to that city (and I currently work as home office, so for me it does not matter on my current job)