1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

This is my first time vocalizing what's been in my mind...

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by Tauriel, Nov 17, 2019.

1. Tauriel

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Hi everyone,

I'm not even sure what I'm doing on here. I'm in my early 30s and I'm tired of keeping my thoughts to myself. I feel like I've been in a mental prison for so long. But, there's no way I feel comfortable telling anyone in my personal life this. I've seen how difficult the world is for all of my open friends.

To summarize, I have believed for a very long time that I'm pansexual. I've been married for years and at this stage in life my husband is all I want. I'm not looking anymore. But, there's this part of me that's remained hidden; remained secret. I feel nervous even posting this anonymously. But, I vividly remember being a teenage girl and young adult and fantasizing about men, trans-women, and trans-men.

When I was in high school, society judged the LGB community harshly enough. I have a bi-sexual friend and to this day members of the community still view bi-sexuality as...well, bad I guess. They are shunned from both the CIS and LGBTQ communities. If that's happening with the bisexual community, what could I even expect by telling anyone I'm pansexual? I imagine that's viewed as "worse" than bisexuality.