1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dealing with an anti- LGBT teacher

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Maddog2017, Nov 7, 2019.

1. Maddog2017

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I am a university student, and have a professor who has some very retrograde ideas about a lot of minority groups. Over the course of only a couple of months she has spent a decent amount of class time pitching a fit about having to learn peoples' pronouns, expressing her frustration with indigenous rights movements in the place I live, and not bothering to learn the names of African American artists we study in class. She loves to open these discussions to the class and it always ends with everyone agreeing with her. I have spoken to one other not straight person in the class who says the teacher makes them uncomfortable, but they still tend to agree with the teacher on racial issues so I effectively have no allies in the class. I have taken to zoning out during group discussions in an attempt to disengage and not hear her tirades, but that may end up effecting my participation grade in the class. I am not sure how to engage, I leave that class every day feeling emotionally exhausted and angry. My displeasure is so evident to the people around me that my family have asked me to consider dropping out of University and attending a technical school instead. However, I don't think it's an issue with university, just with this class. Any advice on how to proceed would be greatly appreciated.

2. Lek

Lek

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone