1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Glossophobia

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Leonardo5, Jun 14, 2019.

1. Leonardo5

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hey all, I have been battling one specific phobia type thing for many years now, it started mid primary school. it’s this weird fear of singing in front of others, and might I add, I am very musical! And in my instrumental lessons my teacher always ask me to sing notes, intervals and alI I am able to do is stand there frozen in fear with a fake smile stuck on my face, yes I look very dumb but even if I try no sound will escape my lips. I’ve done some research on this singing phobia and it came up with glossophobia, fear of public speaking, which is not singing (though I get very nervous when I have a presentation to do). I can’t seem to find any specific phobia on my case, and now I’m wondering if this is just me making an excuse not to sing.
    Now, i actually really like to sing, i sing by myself with no one listening, or to specific people in my family. Anyone out of that circle, my lips will shut tight and stay shut.
    I just don’t get why I can’t sing to anyone else, because I absolutely love to sing!

sublimeprincess likes this.
  2. Chiroptera

Admin Team Full Member

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Others may have more Information of phobias than me, but the internet is full of imprecise and fake advice, so I would be careful in using it with the objective of self-diagnosis.

Have you considered talking to a therapist about this? It may be caused by anxiety or something like that, and a therapist will help you to work this out.

3. Leonardo5

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    A few people