1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Out and Effect on Mental Health

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Kieran J, May 27, 2019.

1. Kieran J

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Hi,

So I am totally new to this and looking for some advice. For years, I would say 10 years or so, I have totally hidden who I am to everyone. However, it's getting to a point now where I am starting to feel like there is no option other than to come out as it's affecting my life in many ways. I was hoping to write a note for family members and friends to try and get them to understand. To give you some background info, my family, friends and work friends are so homophobic it's unreal. Please give my note a read below and let me know what you think and if you think it is the right thing to do:

Those who are close to me will be aware that for many years I have been suffering from depression & anxiety, which was intensified I believe by my job, past experiences and dare I admit mainly my “lifestyle choice” and my battle to come to terms with what was clear for me to see. Firstly I would like you all to ask yourself the following ”what is a choice?” I define a choice as an act of choosing between two or more, which is three in this instance, possibilities. Lets clear the following up before I proceed “I DID NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES CHOOSE THIS”. Why would I? Would you choose to single yourself out and be different when all you want to do is be “normal” and have a “normal” life?