1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Recently came out to homophobic parents...

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Jude B, May 20, 2019.

1. Jude B

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    So, as I've mentioned in the past, I have really conservative parents. They're very religious. I've known that I wasn't straight for about eight years. As far as my gender, I've kinda always had a feeling that I wasn't quite a girl or a boy. But I didn't come out as enby until around the same time as I came out as pan about a year ago.

It was really tough to keep that sort of thing in, as I'm sure you guys can understand. But I didn't want to tell my parents because I knew how they'd react-- they'd curse me to fire and brimstone. Ya know, the whole Christian jazz. So, I planned to not say anything until I graduated from school.

But... that wasn't what fate had in store for me...

My mom found and read my journal. She stumbled across mentionings of girls and guys I had crushes on through the past year. She also came across the entries when I came out as pan and enby.

So, naturally, she confronted me... I panicked. And confessed to everything that I've known for so long.

Thankfully, she was upset but didn't lash out too much. My father on the other hand... When I told him, he shouted, "You're going to hell! You're going straight down to hell! How could you do this to your parents? To yourself? You should be ashamed of yourself."

All I could hear was anger, disappointment and contempt in his voice. And it broke my heart...
    I've always been the golden child to them. So, to completely and utterly disappoint them in this way (although there's no way that I can control it and that they're in the wrong here) hurts almost beyond what I can handle...