1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thinking of coming out, need support!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Freddy25, Apr 30, 2019.

1. Freddy25

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Hi, I am new to EC and this is my first post.

I am gay but have never come out to anyone. I've known I was since I was 13 but never had the courage to come out, I am 25 now. My whole life I have pretended I was straight. All of my friends are straight a, so I've never had anyone to talk to about it.

I am finally thinking of coming out to some friends and family but am struggling to find the strength to do it. I recently went to a counsellor for support and broke down crying when I finally told her I was gay. I really want to build up the confidence to come out but I keep talking myself out of it and am scared of how people will react. I just don't know how to bring it up and say the words out loud.

Any advice from people who have recently come out would be really helpful. I feel so alone with it all at the moment so really need some support!

Thanks all

jsm, Rade, LostJedi and 1 other person like this.
  2. swimman68

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Family only