1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Creating a Space to Experiment

Discussion in 'Gender Identity and Expression' started by Hrafn, Feb 22, 2019.

1. Hrafn

Gender Pronoun:
    Other
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I’m not sure if this is quite the right place to put this, but since it’s related to gender identity I’m putting it here.

I’ve been questioning for a couple years. I have realized now though that some of the feelings I’ve been having about myself and my identity are not new. Being afab I’ve never been that comfortable in my femaleness. I essentially ignored the feelings of wrongness and discomfort until about 2-2.5 years ago when I moved to finish my bachelors. I think I’ve been in a downward spiral since then and my mental health hit rock bottom during the previous semester. I recently found a therapist at the urging of my family.

Long story short, I think I’m probably a non-binary transguy though I’m still pretty insecure in my identity and rather confused. So I think I’m in need of a safe space to experiment with pronouns and possibly names with people I see regularly. I’m out to my parents, both my siblings, and my best friend all of whom have been wonderful. But they all live in a different state. I have an aunt and uncle and three of my cousins where I currently live. I have not talked to any of them, however, because I am unsure of how they’ll react to me being trans. I am tentatively planning to talk to a cousin and see how he thinks his parents will take it.

I feel like I need the real life experience to figure out what feels right. It’s not enough for me to see a therapist, and talk to family about some of this to be able to figure myself out. I’m wanting a little more input here. Any thoughts or advice is welcome.