1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lack of Confidence/Validation

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by SelflessSellout, Jan 23, 2019.

1. SelflessSellout

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    My confidence is all over the place, I think it boils down to the fact that I don't really have much self love. I've been working on it for a while but it's mostly just resulted in self respect.

I've been questioning my identity since 2015 (maybe early 2016). It went all over the place with what people expected of me and sorting out my feelings. I've continuously identified as specifically nonbinary for a little over a year, but I've been used to not identifying as cis for a few years.

For the past few days I've been wondering why I have doubt every time I do something nonbinary related. Especially talking about my identity with others. The evidnece is there that I'm trans. I like my new name more, they/them pronouns seem worlds better than gendered ones, and I feel more at ease when I'm with people who respect me for who I am (which is a handful of people that I'm actually out to)

But when it comes down to me saying "I'm nonbinary, and I'm proud to be me" it fills me with this incomplete feeling. I just feel like I'm not there yet when it comes to accepting myself.

Do other trans people experience this? How did you overcome it, or did it happen overtime?

2. OnTheHighway

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    While I am gay and not trans, I have spent a considerable amount of time reflecting on the foundation for bulding confidence, self esteem, self worth, self respect and self love. I believe the start towards building self confidence starts with addressing the underlying causes of low self esteem - shame.