1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dating app confusion

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by baristajedi, Nov 21, 2018.

1. baristajedi

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    hi there...
    So I’ve added profiles to about 4 dating sites, and I’ve been basically sending messages to people who I think seem interesting and live nearby. I think I am still learning how to do the message thing because the ones I’ve sent so far were probably too something, not exactly sure, I haven’t got responses yet.

But I get a lot of messages from people who live like across the globe. I don’t really understand this particular use of dating sites, is it just for sexy chat? I mean, honestly I don’t get it. I want to actually meet real life women, what’s the point of sending out a message to someone you will never actually have a chance to meet?

Also... advice, insight on best ways to go about meeting people?

So far I’ve been:

Working on dating apps but don’t really know if I want to pay a lot for an app, so I’ve been trying out free versions but of course that limits communication in various ways depending on the site.

Checking for meet-ups that will be happening near me. I see that none are coming up when I’m available in the near future so I’m working on organising a night with a meet-up group that I know is pretty well attended here.. people seem keen for the day and venue I suggested so I’m just waiting for the organisers to respond to see if they’ll post the event.