1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nervous to visit boyfriend's parents

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by jnr183, Nov 15, 2018.

1. jnr183

35-year-old guy here. It has been a while since I've posted here. I have been coming out gradually since 2014 although now I'd say I'm pretty much quite out. Not shouting it from the rooftops and not fully out at work though I'm surprised that more of my senior colleagues don't know that I'm in a fairly serious relationship with someone in our collective professional sphere.

I have been dating my current boyfriend for about 8 months now. I dated quite a bit before that but this guy seemed quite special from the start. The seriousness of my relationship with him prompted me to come out to my sister in May and my parents in July (he did the same with his family in July). Everything with my parents could not have gone better. My parents and sister were visiting me in October, so he met everyone then. Everything with that could not have gone better. He was an absolute gentleman just by being himself and he instantly felt, to me and to I think everyone else, part of the family.

He's slated to visit his home in Ireland for about a month starting in December to sort out visa renewals, etc. He hasn't seen his parents since January. He wants me to visit for a few days around the new year to see his home, meet his family, etc. And I am completely anxiety-ridden over it. I'm not quite sure why. I visited Ireland a few years ago with my family and loved it.