1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burned out and confused

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Barb, Nov 12, 2018.

1. Barb

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    And it sucks.

Okay so bit of a backstory here. I am a second year student at university, major in Japanese Studies. Last year was great. I started studying, met new friends, moved out and even picked up dancing again with a wonderful new team. I was having the time of my life until the end of the last semester of my studies. I had been feeling stressed a lot and I had been busy with so many different things. Even though I had a lot of fun dancing, studying, hanging out with friends and helping out at both university and my dance team, I was starting to feel nauseous a lot.

After about 8 visits to the hospital, there was nothing to be found and I continued feeling sick. I ended up failing 2 of my 7 classes. This was a big deal because my university has an exchange program to Japan in the second year, but only for students who pass all their first year classes in one go. No possibility to go a year later or whatever. Of course, this left me super sad and I met up with the student counselor and other 'important' people from uni. They all told me I shouldn't be asking them and I had no valid reason for getting any help (i.e. an extra chance, a different program).