1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best way to break up with someone?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by Asking, Sep 30, 2018.

1. Asking

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    A few people
    hey all, I’m a little new to this type of thing, but if you were to be broken up with, how would you want it done/ the most painless way?
    I’m breaking up with this girl (we were both each other’s first girlfriend) and we had our first kiss together, so I know that it’s a somewhat sentimental thing, but we never communicated together that well and it was very tentative, if any of that helps at all. How do you think it would hurt the least? Thanks, you folks are lifesavers.

2. Chiroptera

Admin Team Full Member

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    First, know this: There is no painless way to do it.

Breaking up isn't a fun thing to do. It may end up in tears and uncomfortable feelings for both of you.

However, if you think things have reached that point, the first advice I can give you is: Don't delay it. If you are sure you need to break up, don't wait until after that party next week, or that trip you two planned and are going to next month. If you are sure about breaking up, the longer you wait, the worst it will be for both of you.

Second, I think it is a good idea to avoid a long list of "reasons". You may have 558 reasons to break up with someone, but, if it is over, then it is over, and it is pointless to hurt the person by forcing him/her to listen to your rant for almost an hour.

Try to summarize things: "Hey, this isn't good news, but there's no good way to say it. I want to break up. You are a great person, but im just not feeling it is working anymore."