1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Are these red flags?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by ajw347, Sep 24, 2018.

1. ajw347

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I'm pretty new to the game with "romantic" relationships. I'm 35 and have been dating this woman for 4 months. I know that we will have differences of opinion and not get along, but I've been asking myself if I really like this person or not. I thought that if I really liked someone it would be a little easier then this. I keep thinking if relationships are really this hard, why do people do them? Which leads me to think people are crazy or relationships shouldn't be this hard or I'm just not ready for one.

1. Drinking:

I like to relax with a drink or two at the end of the day. While I know that's not very good for me, I like to do it.

Very early on in my relationship with my girlfriend she tells me stories of her mom being an alcoholic, her sister, many of her exes, and how she herself used to drink and do illegal drugs.

One day she came over, after I knew all the information about drinking in her past) and saw that I had maybe 6 beers in the refrigerator. Then a couple of days later she was over again and I was out of beer. She commented on that saying she didn't know I was such a big drinker. This made me feel a bit self conscientious because I knew she didn't want another person in her life that drank too much. Now when she comes over I find myself emptying the recycling because I don't want her to see the empties. She claims she can tell when people have been drinking by their eyes and has made other comments too. I don't know why I feel judged by her, but I do and no one has ever caused this feeling inside me before. Is it because I want her to like me?

2. We hardly ever laugh: