1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running around in circles about my sexuality, need help

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by BrainTrain, Aug 24, 2018.

1. BrainTrain

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hi everyone,

Thanks for being here. This is my first attempt at externalizing my fears about my shifting sexuality, I hope this is the right place for it. The past two years have felt like hell in my head as I try to figure all of this out.

Long story short, I keep having a persistent thought in my head that goes like this - "I'm gay." Simple enough on the surface, but the anxiety, fear, depression, and isolation that it has caused me these past 2 years have been enormous to say the least.

I'm not entirely sure where to start with all of this. I prefer to label myself as bisexual since I have been in relationships with women my entire life and still find women attractive. But now I find men attractive as well.

I think I'm dealing with some kind of psychological barrier that I can't seem to resolve on my own. I just keep running around in circles with it. Being bisexual involves two halves, heterosexual and homosexual. There's the attraction to women, which I'm familiar with, and this new attraction to men, which is foreign, scary, and filled with confusion.

What kind of confusion?
    • Am I supposed to tell people? I still vividly remember my father saying that he would "disown his children if he found out they were gay" when I was younger. The thought of complete and total rejection by the man who brought you into this world is a whole web of problems on its own.
    • Then there's the anger. I feel angry at myself for being this way. Is there something wrong with me? How the hell did this even happen? Is this totally out of my control and I just have to deal with it?