1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Same Sex Date?

Discussion in 'General Support and Advice' started by AshdeD32, Aug 21, 2018.

1. AshdeD32

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I am very new at the dating same sex. I recently told my crush that I liked her. So we are planning on going on a date this weekend. But now that I think about it. I still have never been on a date. So I know that guy would more and likely pay. But when it comes to paying with the same sex couple. Who pays? Also this is actually just a hang out and were only saying its a date bc I haven't told that many people yet.

2. tystnad

tystnad Guest

who pays? well, obviously, no one, because it’s a man’s job to pay.... it’s the perfect loophole! the greatest benefit of dating girls!

jokes aside, here’s the great thing about same sex dating: there are no rules. most dating etiquette is based on very outdated gender stereotypes (a man should pay because he’s the one making the money, etc) and even on a straight date i would argue these do not need to apply at all, but on a date like yours they definitely don’t need to because there is no man so no traditional gender division! how to go about this is partially culturally dependent (where i live you split the bill by default and it’d actually be weird to offer to pay someone’s bill even on a date, unless you owe that person something) but generally i believe the attitude is that whoever initiated the date pays. really though, there are no rules and you can shape your date however you wish, just completely ignore “rules” that movies and books and whatnot make you believe exist in dating. there’s no “right” or “wrong” way to date. what matters is that you have a good time with your date, not whether it’s in any way meeting up to social standards :slight_smile:

3. beenthrdonetht

Gender Pronoun:
    He