1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do Crushes Damage Platonic Friendships?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Kayl, Aug 16, 2018.

1. Kayl

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I've been crushing on this female classmate of mine for ten months now, and my feelings haven't changed as I've tried to push her out of my mind. We've become pretty good friends, and even seeing all of her flaws - and teasingly making fun of them - hasn't destroyed the non-platonic feelings. Back in April, I was seriously considering telling her how I felt. I was worried that keeping this crush from her going further into our friendship will damage it once I tell her or she finds out. Is that normal? I have no experience with telling friends that you like them non-platonically, so I don't know how they react. I don't think that my friend is the type to shut me out of her life for something like that, but it's hard to tell since it's a pretty big game changer in a relationship. Back then, I was almost prepared - there even came a moment with her when I thought about it and almost started talking - but I chickened out, and up to this point, I evidently haven't made any further moves. So what do I do from here on out? Right now, as we're still in summer, I haven't been seeing her regularly, last time we got together with other friends was a couple of weeks ago. I want to mentally prepare myself for going back to school and getting caught up in it all over again. Any advice is appreciated!

2. Destin

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone