1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out to parents at 35

Discussion in 'LGBT Later in Life' started by jnr183, Jul 19, 2018.

1. jnr183

Many of you probably don't know me as it's been a few years since I was a regular poster.

I've been coming out gradually since 2014 and am at the point that I'm out to nearly everybody close to me with the exception of my family. I did tell my sister several weeks ago. I'm nearly ready to tell my parents but could use some advice or just venting.

The decision to come out to my parents has been scary and elusive. I've dated a bit since starting to come out, but had never found anyone that really clicked. I met a guy in March and this has led to a relationship that has become fairly serious fairly quickly. He's the kind of guy I didn't think existed and the kind of guy I have been searching for for years. I'm in love with him. He's in love with me. Our lives have started to merge together. I could certainly see myself marrying him.... in a few years, of course.

I'm close with my parents and now it's becoming difficult to keep such a big (and exciting) part of my life away from them. I need to tell them, and soon, but I know that it is going to be emotional and draining, especially for them. My boyfriend actually came out to his parents a couple of weeks ago- it sounds like our families are pretty similar. They are coming around, but it's been a lot for them to process.