1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

At what point should I force myself to start dating?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by whaddit, Jun 30, 2018.

1. whaddit

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hey guys! This is my first time posting on EC in probably 5 or more years, but I feel like I need some outside perspective on getting into dating as a gay guy.

So I'm 19, going into my second year of university, and I've never dated anyone. I've never kissed, never had sex, nothing. I'm mostly alright with that, save for occasional spurts of loneliness, but I worry that my decision to abstain is going to ruin my self-confidence a couple years from now, especially since a large part of why I'm not dating is general discomfort with putting myself out there. It feels like the only two options are using a dating app or pestering my friends to get them to hook me up with someone, neither of which really appeal.

It's not as though I'd dislike having a boyfriend, but I worry that I would just use one to artificially bolster my self-esteem, and that feels cheap. But explicitly seeking out a boyfriend in the first place feels cheap in the same way; I know it's a pretty childish mindset to have, but I wish there was something more organic than an app, even though that isn't very feasible in a smaller dating pool.

I guess my question boils down to this: should I be forcing myself to date in order to not be a lonely, inexperienced virgin several years down the road, or should I just not bother? I feel like I'll always be apathetic about the prospect of dating, so maybe I should just suck it up and start sooner. Plus, at this point I figure I'm already behind the curve, so I should probably just cut my losses and try to get some level of relationship experience. I don't know, sorry for rambling, I appreciate any insight.