1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Learning to be Me

Discussion in 'The Welcome Lounge' started by ANewHope4, Mar 22, 2018.

1. ANewHope4

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hi - this is my first post and it seems like a good place to put it. I'm in my late 30's and in the middle of a divorce from my wife of fifteen years. I have two daughters who I get to see most weekends. I'm unemployed and looking for work (until last May, I was a pastor). I'm depressed. I'm also bi. Or gay. Or something.

I first came to terms with my sexuality about two years ago. My earliest indications is that I might be queer were in the fifth grade. I come from a religiously conservative family - my dad used to say that we were "socially liberal and theologically conservative." I pushed away the possibility that I was queer because of fear and guilt. I was afraid of Hell. I was afraid of AIDS. I realize now that I spent the last couple of decades hiding in plain sight.

As difficult as my divorce is, I also see it as an opportunity for me to reinvent myself and to live a more authentic and fulfilling life. I often think about what Jesus says in John 8:32 - "You shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free." What Jesus doesn't say is that first the truth screws up your life, evicts you from it and then you're free. I do believe that my life will get better in the long run, but right now things are really hard.

I don't want to hide anymore. I want to discover and be me. And yet I often feel lost and alone. I'm out to a few people, but because of where I live, most of the people I'm out to are heterosexuals.