1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First Time

Discussion in 'Sexual Orientation' started by MarriedBi, Feb 27, 2018.

1. MarriedBi

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    This is my first time on any site like this. I am 37. Married for almost 14 years to a man. I've realized the past couple years I am very attracted to women. I have never been with a woman but I think of myself as bisexual. Only my husband and best friend know. I'm looking for other people to talk to in similar situations. I do not want to leave my husband or have an open marriage. I'm looking for other solutions to feel more fulfilled and happy. If anybody has been or is in this situation feel free to let me know what has or hasn't worked for you and your spouse.

2. Bakemono

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
  3. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi, and welcome. The situation you're in isn't an easy one for anyone, but I commend you for facing it and working through it. The challenge is going to be finding a fulfilling situation without changing the current situation; I think over time you will probably come to terms with the idea that if you aren't happy, something is going to have to change.

It might also be helpful to realize that when we confront some significant loss (in this case, loss of perception of self as straight), there are stages we go through: denial-anger-bargaining-grief-acceptance. They aren't always sequential, and can take from hours to months or longer to process. But part of the process of thinking about what happens with your current relationship may be tied up in those stages of loss (which both of you are most likely experiencing.)