1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out with ZERO relationship experience to talk about?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Blue90, Jan 30, 2018.

1. Blue90

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I’m female, 27, and gay and feeling the time to come out is very soon.

I have zero actual relationship experience with any gender. I have nothing beyond what I have felt for another person. Obviously there have been one way crushes/long term unrequited love from my side which is how I know I love girls! But nothing further, not even a kiss with anyone.

Is this going to hinder my coming out?
    Will it make it less believable to people?

I could make up a story about a sexual experience with a girl (no one would know) but the whole point of coming out is to end the lies isn’t it?!

I didn’t want coming out to happen whilst I was in a relationship. I think that’s too messy and not fair on the other people involved?

Any thoughts or experiences?

2. Percy15

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    You don't need to have a sexual/romantic experience to come out. When and how you come out is completely your decision, and you don't owe it to anyone to do it in a certain way. Whether or not you've been in a relationship doesn't change who you're attracted to.

skittlz and WildT like this.
  3. LittleMouse

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    You don’t need to ‘prove’ your sexuality by having had experience. Society often makes non-straight folk feel like that, so you’re definitely not alone. There is no need to make things up, plenty people don’t have relationships until they are older than you.